You like my hair? Gee thanks, just washed it.

Jenna Walsh
3 min readOct 2, 2021

--

5 reasons why you should NOT wash your hair everyday

There have been countless discussions whether it is good to wash your hair everyday or not wash your hair everyday. At the end of the day it boils down to case by case scenarios since everyone does not have the same hair type. From my own personal experience I found it more beneficial to not wash my hair everyday and here are the reasons why.

  1. Strips hair of natural oils
    As we are aware, our hair naturally produces oils to help keep our hair and scalp healthy and hydrated. Just like our skin. If we constantly wash our hair everyday it strips our hair from its natural oils. Therefore, our hair and scalp will become dry and brittle overtime.
  2. Saves time
    We all know when it comes to washing hair it can be a process. By not washing your everyday you could save a significant amount of time. In my case I save about half an hour every day I do not wash my hair.
  3. Saves money
    If you’re like me I try my best to save money any way I can. I have over 40 inches worth of hair and on the days I wash my hair I use a significant amount of product. If I were to wash my hair every day I would have to go to the store every week to buy product. Since I only wash my hair about 2–3 times a week it definitely cuts down on spending when it comes to hair products.
  4. Preserves hair color
    My hair color is naturally dark brown/black and for a period of time I bleached and dyed my hair red. During that period of time I was still washing my hair everyday. I noticed my color was fading a lot quicker than I had anticipated. I realized by washing my hair everyday meant I was also washing away my color as well. So by default in order to maintain my hair color for longer I had to stop washing my hair every day. By doing so my hair color would last longer, decreased the trips on going to the salon, and it saved me money.
  5. Easier to style dirty hair
    I know this one may sound gross but speaking from my own personal experience this trick works. I’m a big fan of dry shampoo to help fill in the days where I do not wash my hair. By having some product buildup in my hair it gives texture. By having texture it gives my hair more stiffness which makes it easier to style and maintain its shape.

Overall I’m a huge advocate for not washing hair everyday from my own personal experience. However, there are many different hair types who may not share the same experiences. What have been your beneficial hair grooming habits that have worked for you?

Image Sources
https://www.kokocouture.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2017/11/giphy-8.gif

--

--